Mercury Prize Shortlist 2010

July 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

The Mercury Prize Shortlist is set to be announced in about an hour, but NME have gone and published it early. Were they supposed to? Probably not. Does anyone care about the Mercury Prize anymore? Probably not. The 12 nominees are:

Biffy Clyro – ‘Only Revolutions’

Corinne Bailey Rae – ‘The Sea’

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Tongue N’ Cheek’

Kit Downes Trio – ‘Golden’

Foals – ‘Total Life Forever’

I Am Kloot – ‘Sky At Night’

Laura Marling – ‘I Speak Because I Can’

Mumford And Sons – ‘Sigh No More’

Paul Weller – ‘Wake Up The Nation’

Villagers – ‘Becoming A Jackal’

Wild Beasts – ‘Two Dancers’

The xx – ‘xx

So no major surprises really, although Paul Weller seems to be one no one predicted. It’s also nice to see I Am Kloot and Villagers in there. The winner will be announced on September 7th.

See NME’s original post here.


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mercury Prize Shortlist 2010 at Nietzsche Said It Best.


%d bloggers like this: