Hoax Hype Alert.

January 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

Owl City – Why is everyone obsessed with the song Fireflies?! It seems every time I turn on the radio it’s playing. In fact someone on Radio 1 (I’m almost certain it was Greg James) said something along the lines of “even people who only like credible music and dismiss commercial music should like this song”. What does that even mean? EVERYONE is supposed to like this song? It must have been Greg James, he is my least favourite Radio 1 DJ ever and seems to have all the personality and taste of a brick wall.

Of all the music out there at the moment, this is not the song that should be bringing people from all sides of the musical community together in a giant love fest. It has the lyrical depth of a poem written by a ten year old (the man rhymes hugs and bugs for god’s sake. Oh and let’s not forget the head/bed/thread masterpiece). Nothing about the song appeals to me. The melody is mundane, his vocals are annoying at best (is he putting that accent on??) and if it wasn’t for the incessant radio plays and internet chatter, I would have forgotten about this song as soon as I heard it (which would already have been one time too many).

Not to totally piss on Owl City’s bonfire, I mean I’m sure he’s a lovely chap, but I am completely underwhelmed by his music, and am honestly annoyed that this track doesn’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon. I checked out a couple of his other songs, and sadly they sound…well…almost identical. Please let them be less successful. Otherwise my ears will be sad.

People telling me I HAVE to like something automatically makes me want to loathe it. This, in my mind is one of the biggest problems with commercially successful music today: people like songs because they’re told to, because they’re shoved down their throats, because everyone else likes them. If you like Owl City for legitimate reasons (i.e. you think he’s got rocking beats and dig the way he rhymes) then fair enough, you press that repeat button with a sense of pride! But if you like it simply because it’s been labelled as a great track, forget the label and make up your own mind.

Personally I would suggest that if you’ve been listening to this song, how about you turn it off and put some City and Colour on instead?

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hoax Hype Alert. at Nietzsche Said It Best.

meta

